Melbourne III

Having stayed in the Nunnery for a few weeks, I went to couch surf at my friend Dan’s house. We’d met in Pai in September and it was very nice of him to let me stay for a few weeks, it saved me a lot of money and it was great to be in an actual house (with a house rabbit, Chops). The day I got there it was boiling hot so we put the sprinkler on the washing line!

image

I spent a while applying for jobs and after one interview I visited Lentil As Anything in Abbotsford. It’s a vegetarian restaurant within an ex-convent where you pay via an ‘honesty box’. If you have little money, you pay what you can and can make it up next time you go with more money. The food was so good that I wanted to lick the plate and the decor was great, an ever-changing art space. 

image

image

image

image

image

image

I met a wonderful family there and the mother knew a lot about the history of the convent so I went for a wander round with them. There’s also a beautifully old-fashioned bakery within the building.

image

image

image

image

I got a phone call whilst I was at the convent for a further interview… As a Milkman! I went along and got the job. I don’t actually deliver milk, I just tell people about the service and register them for the first delivery. It can be hard work going door to door and people can be rude but I’ve acquired a great group of friends from across the world working there and I get to meet lots of different people and see a lot of Melbourne’s suburbs. We have a lot of fun singing on the bus on the way to work, it’s a bit like having an extended family! I’ve seen some strange things on the streets of Melbourne, like this woman walking her pet goats.

image

We have challenges each week to win prizes. One challenge is “soft serve Wednesday”. We’re pitted against each other for the most sales. Whatever loses gets icecreamed! I won against Jake on my first week 😀

image

image

image

image

image

I work there Monday-Friday and sometimes we get to go further away. My bus won a competition to work in Bendigo (a city a few hours north of Melbourne) for 2 days. We all stayed in a log cabin in the woods overnight. It was interesting to see country Victoria but there were a lot of bugs!

image

image

Working is great but sometimes we we’d up doing some really long days – I barely see my housemates but it makes me appreciate my time off!

I moved out from Dan’s into a short term rent with Sam, Matty and Marcus – it’s great to have our own place, I can make welshcakes again!

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

