Last slice of Pai.

On our return to Pai, we met up with Sugar, a girl from Bangkok that we’d met in Soppong. She’s crazy but lovely! We also made some new friends; Nathan and Andrew from Australia.

The next day – 12/12/12 was my Dad’s birthday. It was great to Skype with him!

Nathan, Andrew, Katie and I went to find the “egg chairs”. We found them and they were wonderful! Hanging chairs in the shape of eggs looking out over the mountains.

image

image

image

We played football against the boys and won (I scored the winning goal!).

image

That night another strange coincidence happened – I met a friend of a friend by accident. The world is too small!

image

We went to an amazing bar that I’d never managed to find before. Bebop was great – live music and you can hang from the ceiling!

Katie, Nathan and Andrew left the next day. I was really sad – Katie and I had been travelling together for a month and had become great friends but we promised to meet up in Sydney and London! She’s a really great friend and I feel lucky to have met her.

That evening was Freedom Jamming Concert, Pai’s reggae festival – I cheered up at it! Everyone in Pai was there. Job2Do, Thailand’s most famous reggae band played and we got to the front of the crowd for them. I’m not even sure how it happened, it all happened so quick and was surreal, but I ended up on stage with Job2Do. Just me and them, bopping away. Unfortunately nobody got a photo of this amazing moment but I don’t think I could ever forget it!

Over my last few days in beautiful Pai, I hung out with my friends, had my first roast dinner in 4 months, booked my buses all the way down to Bangkok, found an upside-down house and had a leaving party.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

Leaving Pai was really hard. I have so many happy memories here, lots of amazing Thai and traveller friends and the place just has a hold on me! It was time to move on though, I was offered a job as a lemon seller in Pai market and didn’t think I was up to it! As I got on the bus and my friends waved me off, I was so sad. I’ll be back again one day!

Even though I didn’t make it to the Thai islands on this trip, I don’t regret it – Northern Thailand is where I spent most time both the first and second time I was in Thailand, it just captivates me!

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

