Battambang

Time to play catch up on blog posts again!

After my trek, I travelled for near enough 12 hours to the North of Cambodia, to Battambang. Arriving there at 8pm, it was quiet and I went straight to bed!

The next morning on the way to town, I saw an interesting festival float and many statues (they love a statue in Battambang).

image

image

I decided to go on the bamboo train, a train carriage literally made of bamboo still used today to transport workers to the rice paddies. I waited so I wouldn’t be alone on the train and a tuk tuk pulled up with Jose and Tommy in, whom I’d met in Pai! It was a great surprise and really nice to see them again. The train was a bit like a flat rollercoaster!

When we met another train coming in the opposite direction, whoever had the lighter load had to disembark, take the train off the rails, let the other pass then get back on again!

image

image

image

image

When we got to the end of the line, children gave us gifts made from grass. I got a ring and a grasshopper.

image

image

The bamboo train was so much fun, whizzing through the countryside!

image

After the train we went to the bat caves and waited for the bats to come out. Unfortunately it was too dark to get any pictures but it was very impressive. Whilst we waited for them, we climbed up to a Buddha that is being built. It’s only his head so far. You could see for miles from up there!

image

image

image

On my last day in Battambang, I took a cooking course at Nary Kitchen. It started with a trip to the local market to get fresh ingredients with Nary’s husband Toot telling us about all the vegetables and spices.

image

image

image

image

image

Back at the kitchen, I learnt to make fish amok, beef lok lak and spring rolls. I even made the banana leaf bowl to steam the amok in.

image

image

My finished products:

image

They were very good, even if I do say so myself!

Tags: , , , , ,

6 responses to “Battambang”

  1. Sue Lewis says :

    Hi Chelsea,
    Your food looks lovely and I bet it tasted great 🙂
    Well impressed with the little steamer you made.
    X

  2. Ayesha says :

    I skipped Battambang as ran out of time, but looks fun. Your food looks delicious. Glad you’re having such a blast. I miss Asia, am now already in Australia and off to see Uluru tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

