Sihanoukville I

After the craziness of being in cities in Saigon and Phnom Penh, it was time for the beach! Sihanoukville is like Pai on sea and I really like it here.

The first two evenings I stayed in town in Monkey Republic. Our first night was Halloween. We went to the market and had 20 minutes to gather materials to make costumes. Amy and I decided to be bats, cutting up an umbrella to make wings. Our costumes came to $3.75 each, not bad! Rhea and Kylie went as jelly bean jars, such a good idea.

image

image

Halloween was really fun. A lot of people dressed up and made a good effort. We went to a bar called Utopia. They had fire dancers!

image

The following day was spent on Serendipity beach. It wasn’t too serene with beach sellers offering massages, fruit, seafood, bracelets and threading every 2 minutes when we were trying to read and relax.

In the evening there was a barbeque on the beach, the lights down there were really pretty and people were letting off fireworks.

image

On Friday we decided to move to Otres beach. It’s much calmer and more deserted but about a 15 minutes drive from town.

image

image

When we arrived it was raining. Being in the sea in the rain was so cool!

For the past few days I’ve been trying to chill on the beach, swimming when I get hot and playing Frisbee. Everyone else has between on boat tours but I’m so tired, the beach is enough for me!

Where we’re staying is mainly made of wood and bamboo, it’s a nice change from hostels.

image

I’ve made friends at the bar next door and pulled my first pint since leaving work at the students union!

image

I have also had another accident. Whilst walking along the beach I stubbed my toe and actually lost the whole nail. Ewwww. Hopefully it’ll grow back!

I’ve been rather homesick the past few days but I hope it will soon pass.

Trying to decide where to go next today!

Tags: , , , ,

4 responses to “Sihanoukville I”

  1. Peter Haughton says :

    Loved the bat – and looking good behind the bar – I’ll let the White Horse know!!

  2. Nick says :

    Look like Kate Bush, one of your Pops’ favourites 🙂 x

  3. Kate Smith says :

    Hi hope everyhting going ok, looks like you having an amazing time!!! Lots of love, Auntie Kate.xx

Leave a Reply

