Vang Vieng II

After the massive bike ride the previous day, the girls and I decided to go back to the blue lagoon to swim and sunbathe (I mainly swam so didn’t get a tan!). I jumped off the high branch 4 times and was still scared each time. Yolly and Alisha rented tubes. Watching Yolly try to get in hers was the funniest!

image

Her phone takes panoramic photos so you can see all of the lagoon! I’m struggling to stand up on the swing in the water:

image

On the way back to the guesthouse we saw a man washing his tuk tuk in the river. I don’t know how he was going to get it out again!

image

That evening we went to a Korean barbeque. We’d been to one in Chiang Mai and it was similar. You cook your own food on hot coals in the middle of the table. It was fantastic and I ate a whole plate of shrimp (even peeled it myself!)

image

image

image

I’m glad I’d done all my active stuff in Vang Vieng when I did as that night I tripped down the tiniest step and my foot swelled up instantly. I’ve been hobbling along for a few days and it’s getting better but it’s so frustrating not being able to walk properly!

Yesterday we went to the swimming pool in town as it was too hot to do much else. The pool overlooked the river, it was beautiful.

image

image

We saw a hot air balloon go overhead! I would have liked to go in one but it was 80 USD. Cheaper than home but still too much!

image

As it was our last night here we met up with some friends (it’s funny how quick you build a community) and Felix showed us his fire dancing – don’t try this, he was in the circus!

image

image

Today we are leaving Vang Vieng and Laos for a 2 day bus (ugh) to Hanoi, Vietnam. I’m glad to be leaving Vang Vieng but we couldn’t leave sooner as we had to wait for our Vietnamese visas to come through.

I’m considering staying in Vietnam and Cambodia a bit longer than Sam as she wants to go to the full moon party on Koh Phangnan (Thailand) at the end of the month and I’m not so fussed about it anymore. I’m sure I will meet people along the way in hostels! We will meet up again on the islands to go back to Bangkok for our flight to Australia on November 27th.

I’m packed and waiting for this presumably awful bus… Wish us luck!

Tags: , ,

One response to “Vang Vieng II”

  1. Peter. says :

    Good luck with the bus ride – could be a long couple of days!

Leave a Reply

